Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:58 a.m. - 2010-10-20
David Rakoff - The tortoise and the scorpion
The scorpion was hamstrung, his tail all aquiver;

just how would he manage to get across the river?

�The water�s so deep,� he observed with a sigh,

which pricked at the ears of the tortoise nearby.

�Well why don�t you swim?� asked the slow-moving fellow,

�unless you�re afraid. I mean, what are you, yellow?�

�It isn�t a matter of fear or of whim,�

said the scorpion,

�but that i don�t know how to swim.�

�Ah, forgive me. I didn�t mean to be glib when

I said that. I figured you were an amphibian.�

�No offense taken,� the scorpion replied,

�but how about you help me to reach the far side?

You swim like a dream, and you have what I lack.

Let�s say you take me across on your back?�

�I�m really not sure that�s the best thing to do,�

said the tortoise, �now that I see that it�s you.

You�ve a less than ideal reputation preceding:

there�s talk of your victims all poisoned and bleeding.

You�re the scorpion � and how can I say this � but, well,

I just don�t feel safe with you riding my shell.�

The scorpion replied, �What would killing you prove?

We�d both drown, so tell me: how would that behoove

me to basically die at my very own hand

when all I desire is to be on dry land?�

The tortoise considered the scorpion�s defense.

When he gave it some thought, it made perfect sense.

The niggling voice in his mind he ignored,

and he swam to the bank and called out: �Climb aboard!�

But just a few moments from when they set sail,

the scorpion lashed out with his venomous tail.

The tortoise too late understood that he�d blundered

when he felt his flesh stabbed and his carapace sundered.

As he fought for his life, he said, �tell me why

you have done this! For now we will surely both die!�

�I don�t know!� cried the scorpion. �You never should trust

a creature like me because poison I must!

I�d claim some remorse or at least some compunction,

but I just can�t help it; my form is my function.

You thought I�d behave like my cousin, the crab,

but unlike him, it is but my nature to stab.�

The tortoise expired with one final quiver.

And then both of them sank, swallowed up by the river.

The tortoise was wrong to ignore all his doubts �

because in the end, friends, our natures wins out.

---cont'd---

So: what can we learn from their watery ends?

Is there some lesson on how to be friends?

I think what it means is that central to living

a life that is good is a life that�s forgiving.

We�re creatures of contact, regardless of whether

we kiss or we wound. Still, we must come together.

Though it may spell destruction, we still ask for more �

since it beats staying dry but so lonely on shore.

So we make ourselves open while knowing full well

it�s essentially saying, �please, come pierce my shell.�

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!