Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:26 p.m. - 2002-11-05
Background Information of the Japanese Novelette
Background Information of the Japanese Novelette

Yes. yes. yes!

A new development in the diary. The story is waiting to unfold!

Is this going to be a love story?

Is this a story about growing up?

Is there a heartwarming ending and everyone lives happily everafter?

Is this a story with all these decadent pop culture stuff just to attract readers?

I dunno.

what�s the characters all about?

Hiki, the 14-yr-old shut-in kid.

Sumi? she wears a school uniform and bubble socks. she�s 17?

K? the useless loafer alpha-male�22?

What are these moral-less characters doing in a beautiful Tokyo city�

Is this a depressing story about lost dreams and lives gone awry? Is this a societal dysfunction?

Is anyone going to die? Is anyone wrong?

I wish I can steer the story right. I wish Hiki will come out of his room. I wish Sumi and K will find love or whatever it is. I wish the characters can find meaning. Or create their sense of meaning in life that they are comfortable in.

I owe them a living, like I owe them at least a happy life. I wish the ending will turn out right. Our lives are intertwined. These characters.

Am I playing god here? I hope im not.

I�d rather think im a friend of these characters, like I�m a character in the story myself. Maybe you should be a character in this story too�.like an unknown passer-by on the street or a hotdog seller or a drunken salaryman or a ktv mamasan or a kindergarden teacher guiding the rosy-cheeked children� whoever you are, perhaps you can lend a helping hand to the characters. You have as much an effect on them as I do.

this story is set in the 1980s. The time of see-saws and orange sunlight and sandy playgrounds and tokyo disneyland. The images played out like a movie in the head.

I hope the story won�t end here. There is much more to understand about these people.

This is a japanese omelette.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!