Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:34 p.m. - 2009-05-07
Jogging at my park
When i got home from work at around 9pm, I decided to go for a jog at the park near my flat.

The thing is, when I got downstairs, half the park was pitch black because at the right side of the park, all the lamps were out, totally not working or someone had switched them off, an unusual thing.

There weren't anyone running on the jogging track, though i spotted a few souls at the exercise stations in the center of the park. But i thought since i'm already changed and here, i might as well run a round or two.

I started running. As i approached the track, i saw a set of offerings on the grass near the pavement, in the grey shadows. It looked quite elaborate, shiny white porcelain plates, tea cups and some fruits. I didn't think anything about it and turned right, jogging past it.

That was when it happened.

A tiny, bright white spark shot out from my right side, at a height below my waist. I immediately stopped and looked behind. There was nothing except 2 guys walking away from me, some distance behind. It wasn't them. Could it be a firefly? I've seen those before and that bright spark was too fast to be a firefly.

I continued jogging and tried not to think too much about it. But it's quite difficult because the jogging track was leading towards the unlit side of the park where it was quite dark. i forged on ahead, my legs carrying me that little bit faster so that i can reach the brighter part.

Then i decided i wouldn't run any rounds in the park because i didn't want to go through the unlit part again. So i went to the carpark which was quite deserted and did a few sprints, interval training.

After a while, when i've completed my exercise, i walked back towards my flat. And then i saw something. A large piece of broken mirror lying on the grass. It flashed and reflected the orange road lamps. I wondered why it was there. The offerings too. i didn't dare to speculate for who...

Walking back to my flat, i passed the offerings and the spot where the bright spark flew out, i walked past it and looked back, thinking if i should go closer to investigate the ground.

But something inside me told me to walk on, and don't look back again. Don't look back, just go home.

The End.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!