Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:18 a.m. - 2002-05-12
what hongkong hollywood has to do with whats eating gilbert grape
ok.

this is just a recall of events that occurred around a week ago after my exams. The reason why i am starting off by this kindoff disclaimer is because i always have this fear that readers would have the mistaken notion that the entries happen on a certain day and i would rush back home to write it down fervently. well no, i don't.

so anyway, i hope you don't mind old news.

you think i actually care?! haha

so anyway, what actually happened was the last day of exams and me and some school friends went to the shaw house at beach road to watch a film festival movie called hongkong hollywood by fruit chan.

i don't go to such events much. what i am saying by saying "such events" is that i regard "such events" as important events. really. i hold it with respect and deference. "such events" are what i would say artistic events and i can't help saying it without a pecuiliar taint on my tongue.

this is the film festival ok.

well, so before the movie actually started, the assistant producer or something had a short interview with another guy and they talked about stuff i didn't pay attention to because at that time me and my friends were sharing jokes.

so i have already told you about the feeling already right? i was waiting for something to blow my mind, to change my life, to kill me and be reborn, ya and all those stuff, because this is the high regard i have for a movie thats in the film festival, meaning it won't be shown commercially (and you know what that means or implies) and is rated R(A)...you know? you know?

so the lights went off and the movie started and then around 2 hours later it ended. i got up with my friends and then walked to the mrt and go home.

it was an alright movie.

"alright".

fuckin hell.

i expected to be changed...taa-daa!...for paying $8.74 inclusive of 3% gst to watch an arthouse movie.

~suck in breath...

of cos, i cannot blame fruit chan who is the screenwriter and director.

-----------

i tell you another story. ya, it is dated long ago.

i went to amk library and borrowed "whats eating gilbert grape" by peter hedges.

i read it continously from 2 to 7 or so.

i might have exaggerated the time, ok.

so anyway, i finished it finally, it's like a marathon, i got up from my bed, placed the book solemnly on my desk and said, "this is a fuckin good book."

ya, and i jumped around a bit, feeling sad for the story, and thinking what a great writer peter hedges is (that was his debut book, i think.) and then i rushed to the toilet to pee. and then came back to the room, with more thoughts about the book and life itself.

that is what i wanted.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!